Climbing and Your Social Life

After my post on being short, I was a little surprised to see that the feedback I got from friends was mostly about my note about a “normal social life.” Regardless, I’m stoked that my writing generated some sort of response.

And I also thought that climbing and social lives would be an excellent topic to address here. So here we go.

I consider a normal social life to be the life I used to lead – going out on the weekends, drinking a bunch, hanging with friends…and there’s absolutely nothing wrong with that. I do not judge people who do that, and you know, sometimes you could say I envy them.

Like I said, that used to be me before I found climbing. And I had a plenty good time while doing it. To be perfectly honest though, I was never 100% comfortable with any of that. I always felt awkward going to a club or even spending too much time at a bar.

But my social life, along with the majority of my lifestyle, changed drastically once I became a climber.

For me now, a normal social life is spending all but two days of my week at the gym, most of it spent climbing/training, some of it spent working, and all of it spent with my friends who climb and work at ET. But this extends past my time at the gym, as most of my friends and “normal” social interactions (i.e. getting food, getting a drink, hanging out) take place with climbers. Some of my non-climber friends don’t get it. But really, they just don’t understand.

My idea of a good time.

On any given day, I would rather be climbing than at a bar. I would rather be at the crag than at the club. I used to be a little self-conscious about this, but not anymore. Climbing is more than just a physical pursuit for me – it’s a way of life. The awesome part about this all is that I’m surrounded by like-minded individuals.

In my post on Being Short, I used the word “sacrifice” to describe my lack of a “normal” social life. I guess that wasn’t the right way to phrase it. In that regard, I don’t sacrifice anything. I just choose to have a different kind of social life. That’s what makes me happy, but I know that it wouldn’t make everyone happy. So it goes.

I’m curious to hear other people’s opinions on climbing and social lives. Or any other activity that requires dedication and social lives. Comment on the post, send me a message on facebook, use the contact form to get in touch with me.

Thanks for reading!

5 responses to “Climbing and Your Social Life

  1. i just came home from living at miguels in the red for a bit and its basically a social scene of weed and beer and climbing. since I don’t smoke or drink I felt a bit out of place but I feel climbers have a pretty ative social life amongt each other

  2. I just started climbing, but I can definitely see how this happens. I started out just going to the gym twice a week, because i was so sore, but by the end of my first month, I was addicted and going every day. I started meeting people at the gym who were there basically every day too and I’ve made a lot of new friends. They climb outdoors every weekend. I’ve always wanted to get into rock climbing so this is a great culture to share time with. Also climbing is really good for you as oppose to drinking, and there are still the meaningful relationships with friends, so new social life, I’m all for it! ; )

  3. Haha, my Chicago friends are giving me crap for going to the Red every weekend, or for choosing to go train over going out or being social on a weekday evening. I let them. I’ll take their crap and enjoy my time in the woods. 🙂

Leave a Reply

