Why I’m Thankful For Climbing

I have so much to be thankful for today (and every day). Thanksgiving is just a day to help remind us of what we all have.

I’m blessed to have a wonderful, loving family, many amazing and caring friends, my health, my happiness, and all the amazing opportunities my life has afforded me. I could list on for pages everything that I have to be thankful for.

But as this is a climbing blog, I thought it appropriate to write a little about why I’m so thankful for climbing.

I have been a climber for about two years now – man, how time flies. Climbing has given me so many things…

  • A healthy lifestyle
  • A deep appreciation and love for nature
  • Self-confidence
  • Pride in myself
  • A wonderful job where I’m surrounded by passionate, extraordinary people
  • More friends than I could have hoped for
  • A community of which I love being a part
  • The chance to travel to new places and experience exciting new things
  • Stories and memories that will last a lifetime
  • An activity that I can excel at and focus on
  • Something to distract me from life when it gets too overwhelming
  • More things than I can put in to words or even think to list here

Climbing dragged me out of a hole I was slowly digging for myself. I look back and think how happy and lucky I am to have found climbing. I’m so proud of who I am now and the process it’s taken to get here, and I’m more excited about my future than ever. I’m in a better place now than I have ever been in my entire life, and so much of that I can directly contribute to life in the vertical world.

I’m always growing and learning as a climber, and that directly impacts my life as a whole. The lessons and experiences I’ve taken from the sport resonate throughout the rest of my life. For that, I am so thankful.

Most importantly, I’m thankful for the friends I have made – how wonderful, passionate, and supportive you all are! I can’t imagine my life without the climbers in it, and I don’t think I’d even want to. You all make such a difference in my life, and I am blessed that you are all a part of it.

This community is a rare and wonderful thing. I would be lost without it.

From me to you and your families, I wish you all a very happy Thanksgiving. Don’t forget what you’re thankful for, and never take life for granted. Climb on, friends!

One response to “Why I’m Thankful For Climbing

  1. Pingback: Trip Report: A Very Bishop Thanksgiving 2013 | To Defy Gravity·

Leave a Reply

