Gear Review: Skratch Labs Exercise Hydration Mix

For the entirety of my athletic career, I have been searching for the right beverage to consume during high-intensity activity.

From my time as a varsity sprinter to my climbing career and everywhere in between (hockey, soccer, ultimate…), I was always unable to find something that offered the right balance of electrolytes to really refuel me. Drinks like Gatorade and Powerade always were too sugary and left me feeling ill, and water just didn’t replenish what I was losing.

So when I saw world class climber Sean McColl plugging one of his sponsors, Skratch Labs, earlier this summer, I was immediately interested. Sean even offered to send along his discount code to any interested readers. I couldn’t say no. I contacted Sean, placed an order, and waited to see what the hype was all about.

Skratch Labs was created by Allen Lim to help refuel Tour de France athletes. He sought an alternative to pre-packaged drinks that athletes relied on because many of those products were making them sick. He worked from scratch to create a new drink made with real, all-natural ingredients that provided much-needed electrolytes with less sugar. The end result was a product that rehydrated and refueled athletes without causing the gut rot seen with other “synthetic” drinks. That’s the short version of the story – to read more, check out Skratch’s website.

Now, onto the product.

Skratch Labs Exercise Hydration Mix is good. More than good. Its great.

First of all, it tastes delicious. It’s a clean, fresh, refreshing taste. There are four flavors offered – orange, lemon, lime, pineapple, and raspberry. I’ve tried each one, and I can say from experience that all are quite tasty. I think lemon lime is my favorite, but it really is tough to say.

Second, it works. I always feel hydrated and replenished when I pair Skratch with my workouts. Comparing my sessions with Skratch to past sessions with just water or (stupidly) not much of anything, Skratch always makes me feel the best. I find that I have more energy throughout sessions and my power and endurance last longer, too. I’ve also used Skratch during competition situations, and I’ve had my best placements when using Skratch.

Third, it doesn’t cause the same stomach issues I’ve experienced with other products in the past. This is especially huge for me, since I have a long history of digestive ailments, specifically during athletic activities. It was so awesome to finally find a product that didn’t mess with my stomach. I was able to push a little harder and go a little longer knowing that I could really stay hydrated without risking getting sick.

I’ve used Skratch Labs Exercise Hydration Mix extensively since July. I make up 750 mL before every session (usually 5 times a week), and I go through another 750 mL during and after. During comps, this volume doubles. I can tell you that it works, it tastes great, and it’s really helped my climbing.

I would recommend this product to anyone looking to improve their workouts and get better hydrated.

You can purchase Skratch Labs Exercise Hydration Mix through their website for $19.50/pound. A 1 lb bag will give you about 20 full scoops, and I use one full scoop/750 mL. That breaks down to about $1/bottle – not bad at all. I wouldn’t spend the money if this stuff didn’t really work. You can also pick some up at select local retailers (mostly bike shops), but a few EMS stores are beginning to stock it.

If you have any questions about the product, leave a comment or feel free to get in touch with me.

3 responses to “Gear Review: Skratch Labs Exercise Hydration Mix

  1. Pingback: Skratch Labs Ambassador | To Defy Gravity·

  2. Pingback: Gear Giveaway: SKRATCH LABS! | To Defy Gravity·

  3. Pingback: Holiday Gift Guide 2013 | To Defy Gravity·

Leave a Reply

