Two Thousand Thirteen

2013 is all about crushing hard. It starts with motivation, follows through with training, and ends with, hopefully, hard sends and solid competition finishes.

When I started writing this post, I was sitting in Earth Treks Rockville watching about 20 professional climbers crush on world cup-style problems set by some of the best setters in the world. It was awesome to watch these guys walk up things that myself and some other solid climbers here at ET project. It was also extremely motivating, because I know I can get so much stronger.

So far this year, it’s been a bit of a whirlwind. I’ve been at Earth Treks every day since I returned from my family vacation to Arizona (only a few rest days in there). When I got back, I was surprised with how little I had lost over my vacation. My endurance and power endurance weren’t quite where they were before, but my power remained fairly consistent.

After a few days of climbing, I started on a new training cycle with my friend Mark P. Mark is a little crusher here on staff at ET – he used to compete and train on Team Earth Treks and made it to SCS Nationals this past Summer. This season, however, he chose to train and compete on his own. We’ve been working hard in preparation for the upcoming routes season, and we’re both excited to get at it.

Our weeks consistent of 4 to 5 training days. A day of bouldering projects, a day of power endurance, a day of routes projects, a day of endurance, and a day of fitness. We also work campus and system board workouts in there as well.

So far, we haven’t stuck strictly to the schedule. Last week, ET hosted a route setting clinic for some incredible setters, including Chris Danielson and Tonde Katiyo. We also had the ET setting staff and some other setters from around the U.S. They combined to put up some amazing world cup-style problems in the cave. Those problems changed each day, and they kept us busy on new projects.

I’ve also been fighting some injuries – both wrists, both elbows, three fingers, a knee, and an ankle. It hasn’t affected my climbing too much yet, but I’m trying to listen to my body and take it a little easy while hopefully healing up quickly. Mark has also been sick. But once we get back to 100%, it’ll be back to training.

I’m really looking forward to the upcoming season. I’m entering this year stronger than I’ve ever been before, and I’m hoping for a great year. I haven’t lined up any competitions or trips for this year yet – but my schedule will start taking shape once I begin hearing back from graduate school programs. It’s a nerve-wracking and exciting time in my life – big changes coming my way.

Additionally, I’ve been working on getting my name out there and exploring some sponsorship opportunities. I know I don’t climb as hard as the pros, but you miss 100% of the shots you don’t take, right? I won’t be heartbroken if I don’t get it, and I’m certainly more focused on just climbing. But we’ll see what happens, you never know!

It’s been a great year so far, and I’m excited for more amazing things. I’m going to keep this blog updated more frequently, so you’ll be hearing more from me soon. Also, it would be awesome if you could go ahead and like To Defy Gravity on Facebook and follow on Twitter!

That’s all for now – stay stoked and climb on!

One response to “Two Thousand Thirteen

  1. Pingback: 2013 Year in Review | To Defy Gravity·

Leave a Reply

