Life in the Bay Area

My life just changed in a big way.

After 25 years of East Coast-living, I’ve relocated to the San Francisco Bay Area of California for grad school. This is the first time in my life that I’ve lived away from the Atlantic Ocean, and it really hasn’t sunk in yet. I’m not sure it will for quite a while.

I’ve been out here for two weeks already. The first week was spent moving in, unpacking, organizing, stocking up on food and housing supplies – you know, being a real person. Since then, though, I haven’t really had all that much to do. Orientation and classes don’t start until next week, so I’ve had plenty of time on my hands.

So far, I’ve seen a few friends and explored a little bit, but I’ve mostly been cooped up in my apartment. When I have gotten out, I’ve made my way to Berkeley Ironworks, the local climbing gym that is now my new home. It’s no Earth Treks, but I like it so far!

All of this down time has given me the opportunity to become active on Tumblr again. I stopped using the blogging platform almost completely for various reasons, but lately, I’ve gotten back to it. I love the community of climbers, outdoor enthusiasts, and adventures I’ve found on Tumblr – there are so many psyched people sharing their passions and journeys through their blogs!

And it’s done exactly what it’s always done to me – reawaken a feeling of Wanderlust.

In Maryland, I fell into a routine – a good one, mind you, but a routine nonetheless. With two jobs, including nights and weekends, my time for adventure was limited. I spent my free time at Earth Treks, and it was wonderful. Amazing people, a great gym, it was my home. And since I’ve been injured for so much of 2013, I haven’t felt an overwhelming desire to get outside in quite some time (since my last Bay Area trip).

But now that I’m out here in California, now that I will have a little more free time (school will kick my butt, but I won’t be juggling crazy work weeks anymore), now that I’m mostly healthy again, now that I’m being reminded of why I love the outdoors so much…that restlessness in my soul is returning.

Ironic, isn’t it, that this feeling of Wanderlust returns after I move across the country (I think that’s an appropriate use of Irony? If not, I apologize…dammit Jim, I’m a scientist, not a writer!).

Luckily for me, California is much more conducive to an affliction of Wanderlust than DC. In the time it would take to drive from DC to the Red River Gorge in Kentucky, I could be at:

  • Yosemite
  • Bishop
  • Joshua Tree
  • Lake Tahoe
  • Tahquitz
  • Almost to Red Rock
  • A whole plethora of other climbing areas

There’s climbing within two miles of my apartment. There are high quality areas within a few hours driving from Berkeley. Not to mention all of the non-climbing areas to hike, camp, etc.

Unfortunately, I do not have my trusty Jeep with me out here in California – which means I need to make lots of friends. With cars. So they can go adventuring with me! At least that’s the hope and the dream.

And hopefully I’ll have a bit more time to put into this blog – whenever I have time, I lack motivation; whenever I have motivation, I lack time. A quandary, to be sure. I do have some articles that need finishing up, and I’ve got a sweet interview with a very cool climbing coming up soon, so keep an eye out for that. And suggestions are always welcome.

I’ll be sure to keep you all, dear readers, updated with how my life continues to grow and change here in California. Thank you for keeping up with me – stay stoked and climb on!

4 responses to “Life in the Bay Area

  1. Welcome to the Bay! I live in Oakland, mostly climb at Bridges but occasionally Ironworks/GWPC/Dogpatch. I’ve got a car and also like adventures. 🙂

    • Side note, there are also a good amount of Facebook groups & Meetup groups that head out for local climbing regularly!

  2. Hey you! Congrats on the big move! We all miss you out here at ET!! I’m sure you’re going to find your routine quickly once classes start…Keep a spot open on your floor for me to come and visit! 🙂
    ~Monica

  3. Pingback: 2013 Year in Review | To Defy Gravity·

Leave a Reply

