Holiday Gift Guide 2013

It’s that time of year again, and I thought I’d jump on the bandwagon and write up a holiday gift guide, featuring some of my favorite climbing-related products. Check it out!

1. Skratch Labs

Skratch Labs Products

Skratch Labs Products

Climbers often neglect nutrition and hydration as a key part of our success. We load up on bars and gels at the crag, we enjoy our beer by the fire just as much as the next outdoor enthusiast, and sometimes we just don’t eat at all. This is not a recipe for success, so I present you Skratch Labs – an active nourishment company from Boulder, CO. If you read this blog, you’ve heard about Skratch before, so I’ll link you to my product review here.

I love the cookbooks that Skratch produces as well – the Feed Zone and the Feed Zone Portables books are fantastic for the athlete looking to eat real food. And my personal favorite drink mix flavors are Apples & Cinnamon (served HOT, so delicious!), lemon lime, and pineapple.

Cookbooks: $24.95 each (or a nifty holiday package with both books for $40.25)

Drink Mixes: $19.50/1 lb bag (good for 40 500 mL servings)

2. Giddy Organics

Giddy Organics Cedar Mint Balm

I don’t know about you, but my hands tend to get pretty torn up after a good day outside. I do my best to keep my skin in good climbing shape, and Giddy definitely helps with that. I love that Giddy is totally organic. And I think it’s the best salve I’ve ever used for my skin – it’s not super greasy, it has a nice smell to it, and it’s definitely effective!

Giddy Organics Cedar Mint Balm: $5.95

3. Spiky Finger Massager

Spiky Finger Massager

I just wrote up my review and everything you need to know about these little guys here. This is something every climber could use, and I highly recommend them to everyone!

Spiky Finger Massager: ~$15.00 including shipping from the UK

4. Asana Flow Shorts

Asana Flow Shorts

My absolute favorite shorts to climb in. Super comfortable, great colors that stand out, and really well made. A fantastic product through-and-through.

Asana Flow Shorts: $35.00

5. Steph Davis’s “High Infatuation: A Climber’s Guide to Love and Gravity”

Steph Davis’s “High Infatuation: A Climber’s Guide to Love and Gravity”

This is one of my favorite climbing-related books ever. I love the way Steph Davis writes – it’s very honest and real, and she has some great stories to tell. I haven’t read her newest book “Learning to Fly” yet, but I’m sure it’s just as fantastic.

High Infatuation: $13.09

6. Marmot Alpinist Hybrid

Marmot Alpinist Hybrid

I bought this jacket to use as a mid-layer, and I must say, I’m impressed. I really like the hybrid fleece/Primaloft puffy design. It’s comfortable, warm, and a perfect piece on its own or as part of a layering system. The thumb holes are great, and it looks good. What more could you ask for? Plus, American Alpine Club members get a Marmot pro-deal through the Promotive website!

Alpinist Hybrid: $225.00

7. Black Diamond Hollowpoint Pack

Black Diamond Hollowpoint

A great day pack for climbers. I’m always surprised how much stuff I can fit into this pack. 4 pairs of shoes, a chalk bag, a harness, a guidebook, two water bottles, and a light jacket – plus the little stuff you can get into the front pocket. It’s a fantastic little pack, and I highly recommend it!

Hollowpoint Pack: $69.95

8. American Alpine Club and/or Access Fund Membership

American Alpine Club

Access Fund

Both of these organizations do a ton for the climbing community. AAC is really branching out into all aspects of the climbing world (not just mountaineering/alpine climbing!) and making sure they reach younger climbers. They provide tons of grants to people with dreams, goals, and projects. They’re here to represent our sport, and they’re definitely worth supporting. The Access Fund is equally vital to the climbing world, helping to secure access and continued climbing all around the country. One of the worthiest causes out there in the climbing community! Support both today.

AAC Membership: $45.00 (28 years old and younger)

Access Fund Membership: Starts at $35.00

Have an item you think would make a great holiday gift? Sound off in the comments!

Happy Holidays from To Defy Gravity!

Leave a Reply

